Home Page

Ballot deadline May 19 in city mayor election

       A metal box outside the El Paso County Citizens Service Center, 1675 W. Garden of the Gods Road, is a nearby 24/7 location for Westside voters to drop off ballots in the Colorado Springs mayoral runoff election that concludes May 19.
       For a list of all locations, contact the City Clerk's Office at 385-5901 or https://coloradosprings.gov.
       John Suthers and Mary Lou Makepeace, the highest vote-getters in the April 7 municipal election, are the candidates.
       The winner will receive a salary of $96,000 a year, as stipulated in the “strong-mayor” charter change of 2010 that gave the mayor most of the former duties of a hired city manager.
       The new mayor, who will be sworn in June 2, will serve four years.
       Raised in Colorado Springs, Suthers was state attorney general from 2005 to 2013 and before that was the district attorney for this area and executive director of the state Department of Corrections.
       Makepeace, who moved to Colorado Springs in 1971, is seeking a return to the mayor's office. She previously held the post from 1997 to 2003. Before that, she served 12 years as a City Councilmember.
       The April 7 election also elected three at-large candidates to four-year terms. These are Merv Bennett, who was re-elected; Tom Strand and Bill Murray. No longer on council are Jan Martin (term-limited) and Val Snider (stepped down).
       The new council has since elected Bennett as its president. The previous president was Keith King, the District 3 councilmember.

Westside Pioneer article