Home Page

Free, outdoor live music offered at Bear Creek, Bancroft and Gold Hill Mesa

       Free, outdoors live music series can be found at three venues on the Westside this summer.
       Making the offerings possible are El Paso County, Summer Concerts in the Parks series; the Pikes Peak Jazz & Swing Society (PPJASS), Jazz in the Parks series; the Pikes Peak Blues Community (PPBC), Paint the Town Blue series; and the Gold Hill Mesa development's ownership group, Concert Series.
       Here what's scheduled from July through September, with the list broken out by location. (Note: All events are weather-dependent and subject to change):
       Bear Creek Regional Park
       Wednesday, July 22 at 6 p.m. - Swing Connection, with Laura Davis on vocals (county/ PPJASS).
       Wednesday, Aug. 19 at 6 p.m. - Wayne Wilkinson & The Faculty (county/PPJASS).
       Wednesday, Aug. 26 at 6 p.m. -- Kyle Gregory Quartet (county/PPJASS).
       Bancroft Park
       Thursday, July 9 at 5:30 p.m. - Mike Nelson Band (PPBC).
       Thursday, July 16 at 5:30 p.m. - Tribe (PPBC).
       Thursday, July 23 at 5:30 p.m. - Jake Loggins (PPBC).
       Wednesday, July 29 at 6 p.m. - Academy Jazz Ensemble (PPJASS).
       Wednesday, Sept. 2 at 6 p.m. - Springs Contemporary Jazz Big Band (PPJASS).
       The Green at Gold Hill Mesa (all at 4 p.m.; music type in parentheses)
       Saturday, Aug. 15 - High Altitude (Army rock).
       Saturday, Aug. 22 - Jeffrey Alan Band (country).
       Saturday, Aug. 29 - George Whitesell & His All Stars featuring Jill Watkins (jump/swing/blues).
       Saturday, Sept. 5 - Woodshed Red (multi genre).
       Saturday, Sept. 12 - 6035 (classic rock).
       Saturday, Sept. 19 - Paa Kow (rhythm/jazz/African pop).
       Saturday, Sept. 26 - 17th Avenue Allstars (doo wop, '50s & 60's, Motown).

Westside Pioneer article