Westside schools: 5 art winners from Jackson

       Jackson Elementary had five winners in the Air Academy Federal Credit Union Art Scholarship contest for schools in District 11. Third-grader Quentin Baker took home the top prize, Best of Show, for the elementary grades. Other first places went to Chelsea Dornick and Ian Struckel, second grade; Katie Mehlhop, third grade; and Brent Maestas, fourth grade. The Jackson students are taught by volunteer teacher Jackie Robbie.
       Also receiving awards from Westside schools in the competition were Brittany Ware, a Holmes eighth-grader, third place; and Shawna Pilgrim, a Coronado 12th-grader, third place.
       The artwork was on display at the Imagination Celebration Place at the Citadel shopping center, and an awards presentation was held there Jan. 24.
       All winners received cash prizes or scholarships.
       Aubrey Yeh of Coronado has been selected as a candidate for the United States Presidential Scholars Program, which honors distinguished graduating seniors. Annually, up to 141 students are chosen for the program and are invited to Washington, D.C., to participate in National Recognition Week.
       Coronado's mock-trial team defeated Doherty High to take first place in regional competition last week and qualify for state. Team members are Hope Barnes, Rian Jeffers, Emma Ziegler, Jenifer Brown, Chelsea Creekmore, Paul Goggin, Elizabeth Levine, Ashley Shelton, Andrea Spraycar, Kevin Poyner, Samantha Langston and Benjamin Walker.
       The advisor to the students is Don Taylor.

Westside Pioneer article/press releases