Hughes, 3 new faces elected to OWN board

       Incumbent Dave Hughes and three newcomers were elected to the Organization of Westside Neighbors (OWN) board Jan. 12.
       The new members are Dick Strauch, District 2; Amy Filipiak, District 4; and Stormie Wells, At-large 3. Each was elected to a three-year term in the election at the meeting.
       Hughes had been appointed to represent District 2 in 2004 and was board treasurer in 2005. Preferring a shorter commitment, he was elected to the At-large 1 seat, which has just one year remaining. “I'm only 77 years old,” he quipped. “I've got other things to do.”
       All but Filipiak, who defeated former OWN board member Nancy Miceli, ran unopposed.
       Before the election, each of the winning candidates said, in answer to a question from the audience, that they believe OWN should represent business as well as residential interests on the Westside. “Everyone needs to work together to represent the community,” Filipiak summed up.
       Miceli expressed a different view, that “OWN doesn't represent businesses. Businesses can represent themselves.”
       Contention over this issue had led to some disputes on the previous board.
       The board will elect its officers for the coming year at the OWN meeting Thursday, Jan. 26. The meeting will start at 7 p.m. at the West Intergenera-tional Center, 25 N. 20th St.
       A total of 62 ballots were cast by Westside residents at the Jan. 12 meeting. Eligible voters needed to be at least 18 and to live or own residential property within the Westside's Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Strategy Area.
       OWN is the city-recognized advocacy group for that area, which is bounded by I-25 on the east; Rio Grande Street on the south; city limits with Manitou Springs on the west (except for Pleasant Valley); and Uintah, 19th and King streets on the north.
       Wells is an engineer who is also an advocate for the Superior Street neighborhood, Filipiak is a geologist and parent, and Strauch is retired after careers involving computer systems, remodeling and the federal civil service.
       The District 2 boundaries are north of Highway 24 between 14th and 21st streets and south of Uintah Street and Manitou Boulevard.
       District 4 is north of Highway 24 between 21st and 26th streets, bordered on the north by Uintah Street and northeast by 19th Street.
       The other members of the nine-member OWN board are Jim Fenimore (president), Welling Clark (secretary), Kristine Van Wert, Phil Miceli and Jim Larsen.
       The one outgoing member was Joyce Gibson (At-large 3), who did not seek another term. The At-large 1 seat had been vacant since last fall.

Westside Pioneer article